Electives

Welome to the Elective classes' home page.  Elective classes at Mears Middle School strive to integrate creativity and exploration into students' school day. The primary elective classes at Mears are: Art, Family and Consumer Science, Applied Technology, Business Computers, Band, Orchestra, Choir, Spanish, and Japanese. In addition to these, opportunities are available for students to experience: Project Lead the Way, School Business Partnership, History of Cinema, and Automation and Robotics.

 

Career & Technical

 

 

Tina Arend

     Computer Technology, Video Production

     Memory Book

 arend_tina@asdk12.org

 Website

 

Carole Johansen

     Family Consumer Science, School Business

     Partnership, Black Cat Cafe

 johansen_carole@asdk12.org

 Website

 

Diane McLaughlin

     Project Lead the Way - Design and Modeling,

     Automation and Robotics

 mclaughlin_diane@asdk12.org

 Website

 

Miscellaneous

 

Heather Fleming

   Librarian, Technology Collaborator, Webmaster

fleming_heather@asdk12.org

Website 

 

Music and Fine Arts

 

Shawn Campbell

     Band

campbell_shawn@asdk12.org

Website

 

Cari McCubrey

     Choir

mccubrey_cari@asdk12.org

Website

 

Matthew O'Connor

     Orchestra, Ukulele

o'connor_matthew@asdk12.org

Website

 

Kat Yackel

      Art

yackel_kathleen@asdk12.org

Website 

 

Rick Zelinsky

     Jazz Band (Zero Hour)

zelinsky_richard@asdk12.org

Website

 

World Languages

 

Bronwyn Haynes

     Spanish

haynes_bronwyn@asdk12.org

Website

 

Ken Yazaki

     7th Grade Japanese

yazaki_ken@asdk12.org

Website

 

Hiromi Chambers

     8th Grade Japanese

chambers_hiromi@asdk12.org

Website

 

Elective Activities

Pottery
Drawing
Band
Computer technology
Family Consumer Science
Orchestra
Project Lead the Way
Spanish
Video production
Library